Skip to content
Home » The 2023 Winners » Music Director of the Year

Music Director of the Year

The Music Director of the Year honour reflects excellence in tastemaking in the curation of station playlists. Nominees will be judged on their demonstrated ability to assess what will resonate with listeners, including the addition/discovery of new releases and new local talent if applicable to station format. Nominees may also be judged on conception of music-related station contests, giveaways, and other initiatives.

Major Market

Matt Berry, X92.9 (CFEX-FM) Calgary, Harvard Media

Runner-up: Katie Stanners, KiSS 91.7 (CHBN-FM) Edmonton, Rogers Sports & Media

Medium Market

Wendy “Boomer” Bouwma, Country 92.3 (CKBY-FM)/National Music Curator, Rogers Sports & Media Country Stations

Runner-up: Morgan Prue, CHEZ 106 Ottawa, Rogers Sports & Media

Small Market

Darren McPeake, Mountain FM (CISQ-FM) Squamish, Rogers Sports & Media

Runner-up: Danny Ismond, GX94 (CJGX-FM) Yorkton, Harvard Media