Home » Meet The 2021 Jury

Meet The 2021 Jury

2021 Broadcast Dialogue – Canadian Radio Awards

Trevor Wallworth

Trevor Wallworth teaches Digital Audio Production as part of the Radio, Television and Journalism Program at Nova Scotia Community College (NSCC). He started his professional radio career in 1989 as a Production Assistant for Newcap Broadcasting in Halifax. Since then, he’s had the privilege to work with some of the best announcers, producers, writers and programmers in the business as a Production and Program Director at many of the East Coast’s most influential radio stations. Along the way, he’s received more than a dozen production and programming awards including multiple Crystal Awards and a New York Festivals World Gold Medal. Most recently the architect of Stingray’s Q Rock Radio Network, Rock Format Director and Program Director with Q104 HalifaxTrevor continues to mentor broadcasters and guide clients through the marketing and brand development process.

Chuck McCoy

Bio stuff in pdf

Caroline Gianias,
President Radio Connects

A known and respected media professional with extensive agency C-Suite and private consultancy experience, Caroline brings a wide-ranging knowledge base to her role, informing and educating the advertising and marketing communities about the power of AM/FM Radio. Caroline represents Radio Connects as a member of the Numeris Radio Executive Committee; she holds the designation of Chartered Marketer from the CMA, and serves as Chair of the Canadian Marketing Association’s Media Council. She will also serve as Vice-President for the newly created World Radio Alliance, a worldwide group of trade bodies representing radio broadcasters, whose joint objective is to demonstrate and promote widely the power and value of Radio.

Barry Rooke

Barry Rooke started in campus/community radio at the age of 15 when he was introduced to CFRU at the University of Guelph. His involvement there as a teenager led him to a three-year diploma in Radio & TV Broadcasting, followed by an HR degree and in-depth research looking at Social Media use by campus/community, public and private radio in Canada for his master’s degree. 

He also spent time as the technical coordinator, administrator, station manager and chair of the board of directors at CFRU. He has been with the National Campus and Community Radio Association (NCRA) since 2015 as its Executive Director, and also sits on the board of the Community Radio Fund of Canada, along with managing earshot-distro.ca.

Lynda Steele

Lynda Steele is an award-winning media veteran with a career spanning 35 years with several major Canadian networks, including Global, CBC, CTV and Corus Radio.

From hosting the number one afternoon drive talk show in Vancouver on 980 CKNW to her popular Steele on Your Side consumer investigative segment on CTV Vancouver, Lynda also spent two decades in the anchor chair at Global Edmonton. Her work has earned her several major awards – including Best News Anchor, Broadcaster of the Year, Performer of the Year, and the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA Canada).

Terry DiMonte

Terry DiMonte is a now a “retired” broadcaster after a 43-year run in radio.  The longtime morning show host had his start at the CBC and saw stops at CITI-FM in Winnipeg, Mix 96 and Newstalk CJAD 800 in Montreal, Q107 in Calgary and two long runs as morning host at CHOM FM in Montreal. He’s now co-hosting the Standing By podcast with his long time radio partner, Ted Bird. And he’s never up before 9 now.